DSR Brainerd Post-Race Recap

News: DSR

DSR Brainerd Post-Race Recap

NHRA Nationals
Event 17 of 24 (Brainerd)
Brainerd International Raceway
Brainerd, Minn.
Aug. 16-18, 2019

DSR Brainerd Elimination Highlights:

  • Don Schumacher Racing doubles-up in Brainerd
    • Leah Pritchett – Top Fuel (eighth career win; first of 2019)
    • Ron Capps – Funny Car (64th career win; third of 2019)
  • The final round featured an all-DSR Funny Car battle (Capps vs. Tommy Johnson Jr.)
  • Pritchett clinched a Countdown to the Championship playoff berth, ensuring all DSR drivers will contend for a 2019 title
  • Johnson’s run to the final allowed him to advance to second in the Funny Car standings
    Capps and Jack Beckman maintain ‘top five’ rankings
  • DSR extends overall win tally to 341 triumphs


Driver Information:
Funny Car:

Driver of the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat

Qualified: No. 2 (3.908 E.T. at 325.53 MPH)

The Results:
E1: 3.876 E.T. at 329.75 MPH defeated Terry Haddock 5.076 E.T. at 151.27 MPH
E2: 3.945 E.T. at 327.82 MPH defeated by Ron Capps 3.918 E.T. at 325.53 MPH

Race Recap:
“Fast Jack” Beckman was looking to break through and earn his initial triumph of 2019 this weekend while defending his 2018 Brainerd win. After qualifying the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat second in the field for the third time in 2019, Beckman rocketed to an opening-round win over Terry Haddock. He posted the quickest run and top speed of the weekend at 3.876 seconds at 329.75 mph to advance to the quarterfinals.

In the quarterfinals, he matched up with fellow DSR Hellcat Funny Car racer Ron Capps for the first time head-to-head this season. Capps grabbed the early lead, and despite posting a pass of 3.945 seconds, Beckman couldn’t catch up with his teammate.

“Our last win came here, and we were kind of hoping this is where we were going to get over the hump this year because we need a win. I’ll take six runner-ups in the Countdown if that’s enough to win the championship, but we need to get a trophy. To go out there first round and run low E.T. and top speed of the weekend and then come back and just flat get outrun by the NAPA team in the second round, that’s kind of a testament to DSR teams and how hard we race one another. Most of the time, our toughest competition comes from within our own camp. That doesn’t make me feel better, because we came here to take the Infinite Hero Dodge Hellcat to four win lights. We’ll take the data and get ourselves prepared for Indy. That’s a marathon race, and there’s nothing more that this team wants than to go the distance at Indy.”

NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship Standings:
Top Fuel
1. Steve Torrence – 1650*
2. Brittany Force – 1015*
3. Doug Kalitta – 1013*
4. Clay Millican – 1009*
5. Antron Brown – 998*
6. Mike Salinas – 986*
7. Leah Pritchett – 903*
8. Austin Prock – 826
9. Richie Crampton – 785
10. Terry McMillen- 708

Funny Car
1. Robert Hight – 1397*
2. Tommy Johnson Jr – 1218*
3. John Force – 1199*
4. Ron Capps – 1171*
5. Jack Beckman – 1098*
6. Matt Hagan – 1047*
7. Bob Tasca III – 1038*
8. J.R. Todd – 981*
9. Shawn Langdon – 914*
10. Tim Wilkerson – 824

*Clinched berth in NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship

About Don Schumacher Racing:
Don Schumacher Racing (DSR) is the winningest team in NHRA Drag Racing history, having claimed more than 325 NHRA national event titles and 17 world championships since opening its doors in 1998.

Headquartered in Brownsburg, Indiana, DSR fields seven professional teams competing in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing series. In Top Fuel, the Matco Tools dragster driven by three-time world champion Antron Brown, the MOPAR/Pennzoil/Sparkling Ice dragster driven by Leah Pritchett and eight-time world champion Tony Schumacher’s machine. In Funny Car, the NAPA AUTO PARTS Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat driven by 2016 world champion Ron Capps, the Mopar Express Lane/Pennzoil/Sandvik Coromant Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat piloted by Matt Hagan, and in Terry and Doug Chandler’s ‘giving cars,’ 2012 NHRA world champion Jack Beckman in the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge, and Tommy Johnson Jr. behind the wheel of the Make-A-Wish Dodge.

DSR also campaigns two Factory Stock Showdown entries. The duo is piloted by Pritchett, the 2018 Factory Stock Showdown Series champion, and former Pro Stock racer Mark Pawuk.

Follow Don Schumacher Racing at Shoeracing.com, on Twitter and Instagram at @shoeracing and Facebook.com/shoeracing.