NTK NHRA Carolina Nationals
Event 21 of 24 (Charlotte II)
Countdown Event 3 of 6
zMAX Dragway
Concord, N.C.
Oct. 11-13, 2019


  • Ron Capps returns as the defending event champion after powering to his 60th NHRA Funny Car victory during the 2018 race
  • All DSR drivers remain in championship contention heading to zMAX Dragway
  • Tommy Johnson Jr. rocketed to the Funny Car qualifying lead during the 2018 Charlotte II event
  • Antron Brown leads the class in most victories (five) at zMAX Dragway:
    Fall: 2011, 2015 & 2016
    Spring: 2014 & 2015


DSR Driver Information:
Funny Car:

Driver of the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat

Countdown to the Championship standing: 3rd

Charlotte II Event Highlights:

  • 2008 event champion
  • 2010 runner-up
    2018 Charlotte II Recap:
    Qualified 10th; First round exit (defeated by Robert Hight E1)

Last Event (St. Louis):
Qualified ninth; First round exit (defeated by J.R. Todd in E1)

2019 Season Statistics:
32 round wins; ranked third in points

Career Statistics:
320 races; 29 wins; 25 No. 1 qualifiers

Won the first race of the Countdown, and currently ranks third with only a 24-point margin separating Beckman from the current point leader

“Even though we’re coming off a first-round loss at St. Louis, the win at Maple Grove, our first race of the Countdown, has kept us very much alive in the hunt. In fact, after going out early, things kind of played in our favor in St. Louis, so we’re still within one round and some qualifying bonus points of taking back the lead. I think that the next two races are pivotal for two reasons – by the time we get done with them, we’ll be two-thirds of the way through the Countdown, and they’re the only pair of back-to-back races in the Countdown. Nobody can stumble from here on out if you want the No. 1 sticker on your car next year.”

About Don Schumacher Racing
Don Schumacher Racing (DSR) is the winningest team in NHRA Drag Racing history, having claimed more than 335 NHRA national event titles and 17 world championships since opening its doors in 1998.

Headquartered in Brownsburg, Indiana, DSR fields seven professional teams competing in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing series. In Top Fuel, the Matco Tools dragster driven by three-time world champion Antron Brown, the MOPAR/Pennzoil/Sparkling Ice dragster driven by Leah Pritchett and eight-time world champion Tony Schumacher’s machine. In Funny Car, the NAPA AUTO PARTS Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat driven by 2016 world champion Ron Capps, the Mopar Express Lane/Pennzoil/Sandvik Coromant Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat piloted by Matt Hagan, and in Terry and Doug Chandler’s ‘giving cars,’ 2012 NHRA world champion Jack Beckman in the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge, and Tommy Johnson Jr. behind the wheel of the Make-A-Wish Dodge.

DSR also campaigns two Factory Stock Showdown entries. The duo is piloted by Pritchett, the 2018 Factory Stock Showdown Series champion, and former Pro Stock racer Mark Pawuk.