DSR Houston Pre-Race Report

DSR Houston Pre-Race Report

Houston Pre-Race Report
NHRA SpringNationals
Event 5 of 24 (Houston)
Royal Purple Raceway
Baytown, Texas
April 20-22, 2018


  • Don Schumacher Racing ‘doubled up’ winning in both Top Fuel and Funny Car at the 2017 event:
    • Top Fuel winner- Leah Pritchett
    • Funny Car winner- Ron Capps
  • Antron Brown won his first Top Fuel event at the 2008 Houston race
  • Matt Hagan won his first Funny Car event at the 2010 race
  • Jack Beckman enters the event as the Funny Car points leader
  • Texas transplant Tony Schumacher resides in Austin

DSR Driver Information:
Funny Car:

Driver of the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger R/T

NHRA Houston Event Highlights:
Three-time Houston runner-up (2009, 2014, 2015)
2015 No. 1 Qualifier

2017 Houston Recap:
Qualified sixth; Semifinal finish (defeated Matt Hagan in E1, John Force in E2; defeated by Ron Capps in E3)

Last event (Las Vegas I):
Qualified 13th; Event runner-up (defeated Robert Hight, Ron Capps in E1, Jonnie Lindberg, Gary Densham in E2, Courtney Force, Tommy Johnson Jr. in E3; defeated by J.R. Todd in E3)

2018 Season Statistics:
Eight round wins; ranked No. 1 in points

Career Statistics:
280 races; 27 wins; 24 No. 1 qualifiers

Enters the event as the Funny Car points leader

“Entering Houston, I’m going to be the leader in Funny Car points and that’s exciting. We have every reason to be optimistic coming off of a win and runner-up in the last two races.

“The fact that they just repaved the entire Houston race track means a lot of our past Houston notes might not be usable, and that’s exciting from a crew chief and driver standpoint.”


About Don Schumacher Racing
Don Schumacher Racing, headquartered in Brownsburg, Ind., fields seven professional NHRA teams. In Top Fuel, the U.S. Army dragster driven by eight-time world champion Tony Schumacher, the Matco Tools/U.S. Army dragster driven by three-time world champion Antron Brown and the Mopar/Papa John’s Pizza/Pennzoil/FireAde/U.S. Army dragster driven by Leah Pritchett; and in Funny Car, 2016 world champion Ron Capps in the NAPA AUTO PARTS Dodge Charger R/T; two-time world champion Matt Hagan in the Mopar Express Lane Dodge Charger/Sandvik Coromant R/T, and 2012 NHRA world champion Jack Beckman in Terry and Doug Chandler’s Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge and the Chandlers’ Make-A-Wish Dodge driven by Tommy Johnson Jr.

DSR has won 320 NHRA national event titles and 16 world championships.