DSR Norwalk Post-Race Recap

News: DSR

DSR Norwalk Post-Race Recap

NHRA Nationals
Event 12 of 24 (Norwalk)
Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park
Norwalk, Ohio
June 21-23, 2019

DSR Norwalk Elimination Highlights:

  • Jack Beckman advanced to the final round on Sunday to lead DSR at the 13th annual NHRA Nationals in Norwalk, Ohio
  • With his run to the final, Beckman powered to two runner-ups and two semifinal finishes over the past four consecutive events
  • Tommy Johnson Jr. recorded his fifth semifinal appearance in six events
  • Leah Pritchett snapped a four-race first-round exit streak by advancing to the Top Fuel semifinals
  • Johnson, Beckman, and No. 1 qualifier Ron Capps leave Norwalk ranked in the ‘top five’ in the Funny Car rankings
  • Antron Brown maintained his No. 4 position in the Top Fuel standings


Driver Information:
Funny Car:

Driver of the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat

Qualified: No. 4 (3.915 E.T. at 329.26 MPH)

The Results:
E1: 3.950 E.T. at 324.75 MPH defeated Jonnie Lindberg 9.971 E.T. at 71.79 MPH
E2: 4.015 E.T. at 318.77 MPH defeated Shawn Langdon 4.075 E.T. at 313.95 MPH
E3: 4.980 E.T. at 234.45 MPH defeated Tommy Johnson Jr. 6.969 E.T. at 143.34 MPH
E4: 11.764 E.T. at 77.85 MPH defeated by Bob Tasca III 4.383 E.T. at 245.09 MPH

Race Recap:
Jack Beckman advanced to the final round on Sunday to lead DSR at the 13th annual NHRA Nationals in Norwalk, Ohio. The 28-time Funny Car winner had a strong June swing, advancing to two runner-ups and two semifinal finishes over the past four consecutive events. With his run to the Norwalk final, Beckman catapulted from seventh at the start of the four-race swing, up to fourth in the Countdown to the Championship point standings.

Behind the wheel of the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat, Beckman started race day from the No. 4 position and with a round-one matchup versus Jonnie Lindberg. The three-time Norwalk champion was first out of the gate and posted the second-quickest run of the round (3.950) to defeat Lindberg. In the quarterfinals, Beckman captured the lead by the time he reached the 60-foot cone and never trailed for the win against Shawn Langdon.

The semifinals featured the late Terry Chandler’s ‘giving cars,’ with Beckman squaring off against recent race winner, Tommy Johnson Jr. Beckman’s teammate was up in smoke right at the hit. The Infinite Hero machine began to haze the tires near half-track, but Beckman had no trouble finessing the throttle and getting his machine to recover quickly to post the win.

In the finals, Beckman’s third of the season, his hopes for the coveted Norwalk ‘ice cream scoop’ trophy went up in smoke as soon as he hit the gas. His car immediately lost traction, and his opponent drove to the win.

“We had a really solid four-race swing, but we really need a trophy. That’s what sets in the minds of all the crew guys that ‘we can do this.’ I’ll take all the runner-ups we can get in the Countdown because then it’s about points. Right now, we really want that trophy, and we are so close. It’s bittersweet to run this good, and then not put a good effort in the final round. In the last four races, we have won 10 rounds, which is about as good as anyone is doing in Funny Car. We are moving back up in the points. Our cars are making consistent runs, and I think now we are one of the favored cars again. As a driver that always feels great. You drive better when you feel like you are on a faster horse. I feel that way right now, and I wish we were racing next weekend.”

NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship Standings:
Top Fuel
1. Steve Torrence – 1164
2. Doug Kalitta – 760
3. Brittany Force- 744
4. Antron Brown – 733
5. Mike Salinas – 732
6. Leah Pritchett – 651
7. Clay Millican – 649
8. Richie Crampton – 532
9. Terry McMillen- 524
10. Austin Prock – 518

Funny Car
1. Robert Hight – 1022
2. John Force – 869
3. Tommy Johnson Jr – 856
4. Jack Beckman – 819
5. Ron Capps – 809
6. J.R. Todd – 764
7. Bob Tasca III – 689
8. Matt Hagan – 656
9. Tim Wilkerson – 619
10. Shawn Langdon – 580

About Don Schumacher Racing:
Don Schumacher Racing (DSR) is the winningest team in NHRA Drag Racing history, having claimed more than 325 NHRA national event titles and 17 world championships since opening its doors in 1998.

Headquartered in Brownsburg, Indiana, DSR fields seven professional teams competing in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing series. In Top Fuel, the Matco Tools dragster driven by three-time world champion Antron Brown, the MOPAR/Pennzoil/Sparkling Ice dragster driven by Leah Pritchett and eight-time world champion Tony Schumacher’s machine. In Funny Car, the NAPA AUTO PARTS Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat driven by 2016 world champion Ron Capps, the Mopar Express Lane/Pennzoil/Sandvik Coromant Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat piloted by Matt Hagan, and in Terry and Doug Chandler’s ‘giving cars,’ 2012 NHRA world champion Jack Beckman in the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge, and Tommy Johnson Jr. behind the wheel of the Make-A-Wish Dodge.

DSR also campaigns two Factory Stock Showdown entries. The duo is piloted by Pritchett, the 2018 Factory Stock Showdown Series champion, and former Pro Stock racer Mark Pawuk.

Follow Don Schumacher Racing at Shoeracing.com, on Twitter and Instagram at @shoeracing and Facebook.com/shoeracing.