DSR Topeka Post-Race Recap

News: DSR

DSR Topeka Post-Race Recap

Menards NHRA Heartland Nationals
presented by Minties
Event 10 of 24 (Topeka)
Heartland Motorsports Park
Topeka, Kan.
June 7-9, 2019

DSR Topeka Elimination Highlights:

  • Funny Car driver Jack Beckman advanced to the final round to lead DSR at the NHRA Heartland Nationals in Topeka, Kansas
  • Beckman’s final round appearance was his second of the season, and fourth consecutive for a DSR Funny Car driver
  • Tommy Johnson Jr. maintains his No. 2 ranking in the Funny Car championship point standings
  • Antron Brown powered to the Top Fuel semifinal round for the third consecutive event


Driver Information:
Funny Car:

Driver of the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat

Qualified: No. 10 (4.018 E.T. at 319.14 MPH)

The Results:
E1: 3.912 E.T. at 326.24 MPH defeated Matt Hagan 3.925 E.T. at 326.40 MPH
E2: 3.940 E.T. at 325.45 MPH defeated Tim Wilkerson 3.956 E.T. at 320.58 MPH
E3: 3.970 E.T. at 326.56 MPH defeated John Force 4.001 E.T. at 323.74 MPH
E4: 3.969 E.T. at 323.97 MPH defeated by Robert Hight 3.895 E.T. at 330.88 MPH

Race Recap:
Jack Beckman advanced to the final round to lead DSR at the NHRA Heartland Nationals in Topeka, Kansas. Beckman’s run through the Funny Car field on Sunday allowed him to collect 60 points and narrow the margin between him and his fellow 2019 Funny Car championship hopefuls.

After qualifying 10th for the 31st annual Heartland Motorsports Park event, Beckman faced teammate Matt Hagan in round one. The stablemates were nearly even leaving the starting line, and both powered to their quickest passes of the weekend, but it was Beckman that posted the win with his 3.912 E.T. versus Hagan’s 3.925.

In round two, the two-time Topeka event champion piloted the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat to another great run – a 3.940 to defeat opponent Tim Wilkerson’s 3.956-second pass and earn Beckman a bid to the semifinals. Against the winningest Funny Car driver in NHRA history, Beckman blasted down the track in 3.970 seconds, outgunning John Force’s losing 4.001-second effort.

For the second week in a row, the final round saw a DSR Dodge pitted against current Funny Car point leader Robert Hight. It was the second time Beckman and Hight had faced off in the final round this season, with Hight emerging the victor during the season-opener in Pomona, California. Beckman dug deep to try and even the score, ripping off a .029-second reaction time, but his lead did not last long. Hight pulled ahead almost immediately and held on for the win, ending Beckman’s chances at his first Funny Car triumph of the season.

“This is the nice thing about having back-to-back races. After me fumbling in the semis at Chicago, we had the chance to redeem ourselves this weekend. We did not look good in qualifying, but lately, that’s kind of been our M.O. It doesn’t matter how well we run Friday and Saturday, (co-crew chiefs Dean) Guido (Antonelli) and John (Medlen) just seem to find a way on Sunday. We kept plugging away at it, and nobody likes to lose in the final round, but I see our stock on the uptick right now, and I can’t wait for next week in Bristol and then the week after that in Norwalk. I think we finally have a car that can contend for the championship.”

NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship Standings:
Top Fuel
1. Steve Torrence – 949
2. Doug Kalitta – 628
3. Brittany Force- 625
4. Antron Brown – 619
5. Mike Salinas – 573
6. Clay Millican – 557
7. Leah Pritchett – 529
8. Richie Crampton – 467
9. Austin Prock – 452
10. Billy Torrence – 440

Funny Car
1. Robert Hight – 933
2. Tommy Johnson Jr – 725
3. John Force – 681
4. Ron Capps – 666
5. J.R. Todd – 656
6. Jack Beckman – 645
7. Matt Hagan – 592
8. Tim Wilkerson – 556
9. Shawn Langdon – 468
10. Bob Tasca III – 455

About Don Schumacher Racing:
Don Schumacher Racing (DSR) is the winningest team in NHRA Drag Racing history, having claimed more than 325 NHRA national event titles and 17 world championships since opening its doors in 1998.

Headquartered in Brownsburg, Indiana, DSR fields seven professional teams competing in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing series. In Top Fuel, the Matco Tools dragster driven by three-time world champion Antron Brown, the MOPAR/Pennzoil/Sparkling Ice dragster driven by Leah Pritchett and eight-time world champion Tony Schumacher’s machine. In Funny Car, the NAPA AUTO PARTS Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat driven by 2016 world champion Ron Capps, the Mopar Express Lane/Pennzoil/Sandvik Coromant Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat piloted by Matt Hagan, and in Terry and Doug Chandler’s ‘giving cars,’ 2012 NHRA world champion Jack Beckman in the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge, and Tommy Johnson Jr. behind the wheel of the Make-A-Wish Dodge.

DSR also campaigns two Factory Stock Showdown entries. The duo is piloted by Pritchett, the 2018 Factory Stock Showdown Series champion, and former Pro Stock racer Mark Pawuk.

Follow Don Schumacher Racing at Shoeracing.com, on Twitter and Instagram at @shoeracing and Facebook.com/shoeracing.